Why Conscious Living?

waterfall-71189_640

“Respond; don’t react.
Listen; don’t talk.
Think; don’t assume.”
Raji Lukkoor

Because when I live unconsciously, I find myself adding a piece of cheese cake and bottle of wine to my grocery cart, when consciously, I know what I really need is a run.

Because when I live unconsciously, I spend my “mental health” runs ruminating on why I needed the run in the first place, when consciously, I would appreciate the beauty of my neighborhood and the crisp spring air.

Because when I live unconsciously, I find myself wondering how my daughter wound up kicking and screaming on the bedroom floor, when consciously, I would have listened to her unspoken cues and filled up her “snuggle” tank before she felt the need to throw a fit.

Because when I live unconsciously, I waste nap time on the computer and spend the afternoon with my kids mentally fuming because “I have no time to myself,” when consciously, I would have spent nap time with my breath and my thoughts.

Because when I live unconsciously, I regret words spoken, time wasted, mistakes repeated, when consciously, I find pride in my accomplishments, a healthy meal, a happy day, a genuine connection.

Because when I live unconsciously, I give in to petty complaints, when consciously, I know I have more to be grateful for than so many who truly have the “right” to complain, but don’t.

Because when I live unconsciously, I wonder where the day went, when consciously, I could have savored so many moments I will never have again.

Because when I live unconsciously, I let desires for the weekend blind me to the joys of the week, when consciously, I enjoy each day as it comes.

Because when I live unconsciously, the mental flood of my thoughts takes me to places I’d rather not visit, when consciously, I know I have to power to control my thoughts.

Because when I live unconsciously, I fume, when I live consciously, I breathe.

Have you made a decision to live more consciously? What are your reasons?

Leave a Reply

